background image

Richard Greer is a composer and Artistic Director from Scotland. His work explores our individual and communal experiences with a particualr forcus on the role technology plays in modern life.

He has composed for some of the best ensembles working locally and internationally and values ongoing creative relationships with musicians and other creators. Previous collaborations include The Royal Scottish National Orchestra, RCS Symphony Orchestra, Red Note Ensemble, Viridian Quartet, Anthanaeum Winds, The Brodick Quartet, Sean Shibe, Kevin Cahill and Ensemble Modern.

Richard studied with Dr. Gordon McPherson and Rory Boyle at The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland (BMus, MMus), graduating in 2012. During his studies he won the inaugural Craig Armstrong Prize (Joint 1st) and was runner up for the Dinah Wolfe Memorial Prize in his second year.

After graduating his work has featured in concerts across Scotland including the Edinburgh Festival Fringe (The Astrid Quartet, Davur Juul Magnussen, 2012), Ensemble Modern: Klangspuren and further afield.

Recent work has included a 35-minute String Quartet: ‘Forgiveness and The Fear of Forever’, a 20-minute Piano Duo (premiered by The Glasgow New Music Expedition at ‘The Piano’), ‘The Last Waltz’, a collaboration with Artist Rhona Mühlebach and a multi-media work 'Each Other' exploring the role of technology in our need for human connection.

He is a founding member and co-Artistic Director, alongside conductor Jessica Cottis, of The Glasgow New Music Expedition who’s activity is dedicated to supporting emerging composers, artists and musicians alongside more experienced practitioners.

From 2017 - 2023 Richard served as the Chairperson for the Scottish Music Centre, of which he is also a member. He is currently a trustee for Govan-based music organisation, The Glasgow Barons.

Prizes and Scholarships

Craig Armstrong Competition Prize - Joint 1st Prize

Patron's Prize for Composition

Dinah Wolfe Memorial Prize - Runner-up

RCS Trust Postgraduate Scholarship